Inspiration/Musings · Unclassified

Broken

Broken…

v.
Past participle of break.
adj.
1. Forcibly separated into two or more pieces; fractured: a broken arm; broken glass.
2. Sundered by divorce, separation, or desertion of a parent or parents: children from broken homes; a broken marriage.
3. Having been violated: a broken promise.
4.
a. Incomplete: a broken set of books.
b. Being in a state of disarray; disordered: troops fleeing in broken ranks.
5.
a. Intermittently stopping and starting; discontinuous: a broken cable transmission.
b. Varying abruptly, as in pitch: broken sobs.
c. Spoken with gaps and errors: broken English.
6. Topographically rough; uneven: broken terrain.
7.
a. Subdued totally; humbled: a broken spirit.
b. Weakened and infirm: broken health.
8. Crushed by grief: died of a broken heart.
9. Financially ruined; bankrupt.
10. Not functioning; out of order: a broken washing machine.

Lately I’ve been in a state of disarray; disordered. Intermittently stopping and starting projects. Not functioning.
I’ve broken good habits, reinstating the bad.
This is how I feel yet, friends tell me it is a time of incubation, hibernation.
…Hibernation can be healing, good for the artistic soul, they say.
The more intense the work, the more necessary to recoup energies, they say.
Pouring 6 months, 26 weeks, 188 days, 4,512 hours into a body of work can be demanding stuff.
And while I certainly felt there was no choice other than to create said work, it would still be nice to exhibit.

However, when you work with glass it is easy to feel. Broken.

The positive side for me (after days of beating myself up for not working in the studio!) are the visuals, and ideas rushing in. Researching concepts, sketching with clay. Which, in writing that reminded me of a dream I had last night? This morning?
I dreamt of a sculpture I cast in glass. After divesting the glass I noticed a large crack running through it spherically. As I tilted the sculpture inspecting the crack, I gently separated the two halves. Inside one half was an incredible, lush green utopia. The other half looked anatomical. I decided to glue the two halves back together but, couldn’t locate this strong adhesive I thought I had… Instead I cleaned the two parts.

20131026-142505.jpg

What habit would you like to break? Is there any way it can play a positive role in your life?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us BROKEN.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/daily-prompt-broken/

2 thoughts on “Broken

    1. I absolutely agree (positive side to everything)!
      Some people might view a failure as being broken.

      As Jodorowsky believes, ‘…failure leads to new directions’
      And Lynch said, ‘.. Failure can only lead upwards!’

      So, I see it. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.