Unclassified

otherworldly time travel, part 2

* In 2011 after the Fukushima disaster, I thought the world might lose Japan. So, I signed up for workshops that taught how to spin paper thread/Shifu and repeated the course several times but, never implemented what I learned into anything tangible. I’ve been meaning to work with the paper thread, combining it with horse hair I brought back from Iceland.
In the 90’s I studied various Japanese metal techniques and in particular – how to make Japanese metal alloys. I am currently playing with Kintsugi- a friend brought me back a tube of Urushi from Japan (then realizing my chronic urticaria felt badly) I opened the tube once… now, I have plans.

varios Raku I made at Gullkistan, Shifu, horsehair,  drift wood found in Iceland and fish skins
varios Raku I made at Gullkistan, Shifu, horsehair, drift wood found in Iceland and fish skins

Meanwhile, Samaris continues to draw me back into Icelandic landscapes. Traveling through frost, ice, mist, rain storms and rainbows. I truly hope you have or will take the time to give them a listen.

Dyrhólæy
Dyrhólæy

The other day, during a terrific thunderstorm here in Toronto a cosmic moment (?) artist, Mary Grisey pulled her bike up under my studio awning to take shelter from the storm. The studio door was open and I was holding a semi-private workshop (with another Mary) and we all started to chat. Felt rather cosmic as Mary and I both hail from the San Francisco Bay Area (relocated to TO due to Canadians) and affinities towards New Mexico (I lived there for 13 years) and Iceland (because: Iceland!) and I had only just returned from a residency there with mega plans to return. Plus, textiles, clay, metal. The storm lasted just long enough for the two of us to connect and share contact info. I am sincerely hoping to get to know Mary, her work and maybe even collaborate or who knows?! 🙂

For years now I have been searching myself and process and truly considering the materials I work with. I haven’t honestly produced anything with metal since … 2011? Nothing, at least in my view of creating/working with metal. I have focussed on glass, sketches and teaching, really. Teaching taking up my hand-space. Mind-space. There is nothing ethical or sustainable when it comes to working with metal. Unless I work exclusively with scrap materials- the extraction of metal from the Earth is a dreadful, toxic affair.

Then there are the ideas. A continual overflow of ideas, visions, sounds, dreams. While pertaining to film, Werner Herzog in his book, A guide for the perplexed views ideas and their onslaught beautifully, replace film with- art, audio, body of work:

The problem isn’t coming up with ideas, it is how to contain the invasion. My ideas are like uninvited guests. They don’t knock on the door; they climb in through the windows like burglars who show up in the middle of the night and make a racket in the kitchen as they raid the fridge. I don’t sit and ponder which one I should deal with first. The one to be wrestled to the floor before all others is the one coming at me with the most vehemence. I have, over the years, developed methods to deal with the invaders as quickly and efficiently as possible, though the burglars never stop coming. You invite a handful of friends for dinner, but the door bursts open and a hundred people are pushing in. You might manage to get rid of them, but from around the corner another fifty appear almost immediately… Finishing a film is like having a great weight lifted from my shoulders. It’s relief, not necessarily happiness. But you relish dealing with these “burglars.” I am glad to be rid of them after making a film or writing a book. The ideas are uninvited guests, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t welcome.

While I welcome these ‘uninvited guests’ I just don’t know where to seat everyone!!

Meanwhile, the thunderstorms are back (yay!) which makes me happy (I am not a lover of Toronto humidity) and I’m making soup. Haha. Thai soup from last night’s left overs (Instagram @nanopodstudio) Back in the studio tomorrow with a glass casting workshop.

raku form made at Gullkistan & sponge found in Kjalarnes
raku form made at Gullkistan & sponge found in Kjalarnes

and I hope you will visit me again soon for, Otherworldly time travel, part 3

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.